RELAXIN

I’ve been pretty MIA on social media lately, due to a little hormone us mamas know as – Relaxin. Monday night after working both jobs I came home and tried to have dinner but was overcome by an excruciating pain in my back. I tried my yoga poses I was taught that was supposed to stretch and make everything feel better – didn’t help, took a bath – didn’t help. I noticed my stomach was starting to get hard and I was having contractions anytime I stood up or moved. Went to bed expecting to sleep it off, when I woke up at 4am I couldn’t take it anymore. I ended up going to the hospital, luckily my mom who lives close by was able to drive me while Joshua stayed with J sleeping. I suspected dehydration because I never experienced contractions or even Braxton Hicks until I was in labor with J.

Once in the hospital, they sent me up to Triage where they tracked my contractions and decided that I was in fact dehydrated (shocking to everyone who knows me because I drink water like its my third job). They pain in my back didn’t stop, even as they were asking me if I could tell when my contractions were, the pain was too much for me to even notice them. I received Tylenol, and that seemed to subside it for a bit.
By the time we left the hospital I wasn’t feeling much better. We stopped to get heating therapy pads, Icy Hot pads, and Tylenol for the pain. I went home, called off work and slept. Woke up – still in pain, booked a follow up appointment with my OBGYN and decided to make a trip to the chiropractor. Could be sciatic pain right? Nope.

Fast forward to Saturday, I had one hospital trip, one doctors visit, and two chiropractic visits under my belt and still couldn’t sleep, didn’t want to stand, or sit for long periods of time.We even tried to put a SUPER squishy foam mattress topper on our bed to see if that would make things easier for me, turned out I woke up more frequently and in more pain. I refused to Google anything those first few days, but come to realize that it was definitely the hormone Relaxin that had turned me into a broken ball of mush. The only thing the doctor suggested was “Heat, bathes, Tylenol, a support band, and yoga.” Check and double checked everything off that list before I even walked into her office. During my Google searches I had read about women who had “too much Relaxin” in their body and it had affected their hips, knees, lower body, and some with their backs. Some actually had started physical therapy due to it, which is something my doctor did suggest if the pain wasn’t gone in two weeks. Physical therapy? Really? For a hormone?! Two weeks was a long time for me to wait with this pain they felt almost worse than real labor, and definitely far longer than it as well.

Finally I made it to Monday, TODAY! I attempted to go back to work after have 6 (LONG) days at home. I made it through almost 4 hours of sitting desk, since I was definitely not ready to go back into teaching my gymnastics classes; and luckily for me my second job told me not to bother to come in since the boy I work with was having a rough day and a cough. I took the horrible mattress topper off, took a nap, and woke up… in not so much pain! After a long day I can honestly say this is the least amount of pain i’ve been in, and just had to put an Icy Hot pad on my back since it’s been a long day.  I’m hoping to finally come out of it in a few days and keep working on building up my back muscles again and stretching with prenatal yoga. My paycheck and my body are definitely not happy after last week, and I can’t wait to get back to our regular schedule!  My poor husband definitely deserves a break going above and beyond taking J to school, getting him ready, putting him to bed, taking care of the pets and taking care of me as well; so grateful for him. Now i’m on the hunt for a better support band and ready to get some sleep for the first time in a week.

 

Leave a Reply

